Styles

Inuit from the Canadian Arctic use local raw materials such as stone, bone, ivory, muskox horns and caribou antlers, which they find in their immediate environment. Thus, Inuit sculpture offers a wide variety of styles, each typical to the region it is from.

 

Baffin island

Since the 1950s, the artists from the Baffin Island region are the main and the most prolific producer of art of the Canadian Arctic. The variety of available materials, such as serpentinite stone, whalebone, caribou antlers and walrus ivory allows the local artists to express their creativity in many different ways. The aesthetic qualities of the sculptures originating from Baffin Island, although strongly based on naturalism, tend toward elegance and stylization. The artists favor animal subjects and play harmoniously with movement and balance.

nunavik

Nunavik, the northernmost part of the Province of Quebec, is the cradle of contemporary Inuit art, which made its debut on the art market towards the end of the 1940s. Since then, sculptors from this area mostly depict realistic and narrative scenes in their art. Although animals remain an important subject, hunting scenes as well as traditional and mythological representations are predominant. The most abundant raw material of the region is gray steatite (often called “soapstone”), which is soft and easy to carve. When polished, it can be engraved very delicately.

Kivalliq

Basalt, the very hard gray or black stone found in the Kivalliq region, gave rise to an aesthetic that focuses more on shapes and volumes than on details. The styles range from raw expressionism to simpler and more refined sculptural shapes. While animal subjects tend to be quite rare, many artists explore supernatural themes, merging animal and human forms together. Others focus on family themes.

Kitikmeot

The isolation of most Inuit groups of this region up until de mid-1950s played a key role in the survival of traditional beliefs, despite a late conversion to Christianism. Sculptures from the Kitikmeot region are characterized by whimsical shapes and themes relating to shamanism and the spirit world. A lot of sculptors work both with stone, mainly pyroxene, and whalebone. Odd facial features, startled eyes and grimaces are typical of this region.

Inuvialuit

Sculptures made of whalebone, walrus ivory, muskox horn and sometimes stone are created in this region. In the village of Holman, since the beginning of the 1960s, artists use muskox horn to create magnificent, delicate birds.

Our selection of unique and original pieces

Les styles

Les Inuit de l’Arctique canadien utilisent des matières régionales comme des pierres, des os,  de la corne de bœuf musqué ou encore des bois de caribou, prélevées directement dans leur environnement.

La sculpture inuit offre, ainsi, une grande variété de styles typiques à chacune des régions.

 

île de baffin

Depuis les années 1950, les artistes de cette région sont les principaux producteurs d’art de l’Arctique canadien. Les matériaux utilisés, tels la serpentinite (pierre), l’os de baleine, le bois de caribou et l’ivoire de morse permettent aux artistes de cette région d’exprimer leur créativité de diverses manières. L’esthétique des sculptures de l’Île de Baffin, bien que fondée sur une vaste part de naturalisme, tend vers l’élégance et la stylisation. Ces artistes privilégient les sujets animaliers et jouent harmonieusement avec le mouvement et l’équilibre.

nunavik

Le Nunavik (Nord du Québec) est le berceau de la période contemporaine de l’art inuit qui est apparue sur le marché de l’art à la fin des années 1940. Depuis lors, ses sculpteurs ont privilégié le réalisme et les scènes narratives dans leur art. Bien que les animaux demeurent des sujets populaires, les scènes de chasse ainsi que les scènes traditionnelles et mythologiques prédominent. La pierre la plus abondante est une stéatite grise (« pierre à savon ») qui se sculpte facilement. Lorsqu’elle est polie, elle peut être gravée avec beaucoup de finesse.

Kivalliq

La pierre très dure, grise et noire de la région du Kivalliq, le basalte, a donné naissance à une esthétique qui tend à se dispenser des détails pour ne s’arrêter qu’à la forme. Les styles vont d’un expressionnisme brutal à des formes sculpturales simples et raffinées. Alors que les animaux sont relativement rares, plusieurs artistes explorent des thèmes surnaturels, intégrant des formes humaines et animales. D’autres se concentrent sur des thèmes familiaux.

Kitikmeot

L’isolement de plusieurs groupes de cette région, jusqu’au milieu des années 1950, a favorisé la survivance de croyances traditionnelles malgré leur conversion au christianisme. La sculpture de Kitikmeot se caractérise par des formes fantastiques recelant des thèmes liés au chamanisme et aux esprits. Plusieurs sculpteurs travaillent à la fois la pierre, principalement la pyroxène, et l’os de baleine. Les traits disparates, les yeux effarouchés et les grimaces sont caractéristiques de cette région.

Inuvialuit

Des sculptures en os de baleine, en ivoire de morse, en corne de bœuf musqué et quelquefois en pierre sont créées dans cette région. Dans le village de Holman, depuis le début des années 1960, les artistes réalisent à partir de la corne de bœuf musqué, de magnifiques oiseaux.

Notre sélection de pièces uniques et originales